Wrong Number

Disclaimer: All characters and artefacts belonging to the world of Harry Potter are the property of J.K. Rowling and I claim no ownership of these. This was written in response to a challenge to describe what might happen if you meet your favorite fictional character in real life

****************************************************************************************

The incessant rain was beginning to get on my nerves. This weekend had been planned as a relaxing getaway from the drudgery of daily life. My husband and I had it all chalked out – long walks through the lush countryside, enjoying the local food over a few drinks at the village inn and some cozy moments in front of a blazing fire in this quaint little house we had rented. What we had not bargained for was the unseasonal storms. It had come up all of a sudden the evening we had arrived and since then had imprisoned us within the confines of the house. While we did get the chance to catch up on a lot of intimate moments, we still yearned to go out exploring at least once.

It was the last day of our weekend and I had decided to cook a nice meal for my hubby. Soon we were tucking in into a sumptuous meal of Szechuan chicken and fried rice, chatting on frivolous topics. All of a sudden I became aware of a rushing sort of sound. My husband noticed it at the same time and we both looked towards the fireplace from where it seemed to be originating. Before our astonished eyes, the golden, dancing flames suddenly turned bright green and within seconds an obscure shape appeared in the fire, spinning madly like a top. The shape got larger and larger and suddenly a man fell out of the fireplace, landing on his fours on the hearth-rug, coughing loudly. Struggling to control himself, he straightened up, giving us the chance to take in his black hair sticking up untidily at the back of his head, his round glasses and a lighting bolt scar on his forehead. He gave us a shamefaced smile and spoke the words I would have never expected to hear.

“Hello I am Harry Potter.”

He was very cute, much cuter than Daniel Radcliffe who plays him in the movies. He seemed to realize instantly that he had committed some sort of social faux pas by dropping into our house without any warning and hastened to apologize.

“Sorry for the intrusion. I was on my way to visit my friends, the Weasleys, and entered your fireplace by mistake. Must have said the wrong name; I had meant to go to villa no. 13. Travelling by Floo powder is not so easy, don’t you think?”

I recovered my power of speech with some difficulty.

“Ohh wow, no problem. You ended up at villa no. 30 actually. But its great to meet you. Surreal, you know. I mean, its you, Harry Potter, actually in flesh and blood. God, I am a terrible hostess. Please forgive me. What would you like, some tea or coffee or a cool drink? My God, it’s really, really you! And the Weasleys live here too? I just can’t believe it. Oh my God, oh my God, oh my God!”

My husband’s discreet, soft pinch made me realize I was blabbering. I clamped up immediately. Harry, meanwhile was surveying our thunderstruck faces with considerable puzzlement.

“Why are you so shocked to see me in flesh and blood? I mean you seem to know me, right?”

“Actually Mr. Potter”, began my husband –

“Please call me Harry.”
(He was so courteous!)

“Harry. Actually we have read about you in books but you know, we thought you were just a fictional character. I don’t mean to offend you, really, I mean we are Muggles, aren’t we? Not exactly aware of your world and all? My wife here is a huge fan of yours though, simply adores you.”

My husband gave a self-deprecating sort of laugh which died away at the look bewilderment, mixed with amusement, on Harry’s face. And then suddenly our unexpected visitor burst out laughing.
“Well as long as I have violated the Statute of Secrecy, let’s be friends. May I know who I have the honor of addressing?”

“I am Jim Parks and that’s Bertha” my husband replied, shaking Harry’s proffered hand.

“So Jim and Bertha, how would you like to join my family and me for dinner at my brother-in-law’s place? My wife Ginny is already there and I am supposed to be joining them soon. Ron and Hermione would love to have you folks there too. What do you think?”

My husband and I looked at each other for an instant and replied in unison.

“Can we go by Floo powder?!”

Leave a Reply

